SOLWorld

Sharing and building Solution Focused practice in organisations

As a Project Manager, my success is predicated by how well I fit in and stand out in a social network. In sketching this scenario, I am viewing the social or relational side of a team.

Fact A: In the world around me, attention during a one on one (1:1) conversation is not always 100%. Eye contact may occassionally shift from the individual to the computer (or cell phone or PDA device).
Fact B: Conversations between team members mostly occurs via email, besides voice-enabled (face-to-face, telephone) conversations.

In the prevailing context of A and B (stated above), I am searching for SF techniques for a Project Manager to build greater interpersonal awareness, rapport and presence. These traits are more important than ever during conference calls, which is a vital collaboration enabler for virtual teams that are dispersed in space and time. The desired result is for everyone to feel plugged in so that the project can become a localized energy field of thoughts, emotions and interactions, both during and after the conference call in order to sustain the momentum of value creation during project execution.

We do not want anyone to sense any exclusion or begin to withdraw, looking for slights and convincing himself (herself) that (s)he is on the outside looking in.

Thanks for sharing any food of thought and leading me into SF action.

Ramu

Views: 141

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Ramu,

I experienced the chapters one and three in the book: " Agile Software Development: The Cooperative Game (2nd Edition) (The Agile Software Development Series) by Alistair Cockburn (Paperback - Oct 29, 2006)" as very helpful for similar concerns as you are interested in!
Please have a look also into this:
Reader Agile Software Development-read only.pdf
HI Ramu - thank you for this fascinating and, I'm sure to many, very pertinent question.